Public Works

Fall 2023 hydrant flushing will begin on Tuesday September 12th.  

See map below for the flushing schedule.  Please note that the schedule is subject to change if there is inclement weather or an emergency.  

While hydrant flushing is occurring, it is very normal to see discolored water or experience temporary low water pressure.   Pressure will return to normal within 30 minutes of flushing being completed.   

If you do have discolored water, please flush your lines at a high volume with Cold-water for 15-20 minutes. This will help eliminate anything that got into the lines during flushing. 

 If your pressure does not return to normal or your water continues to stay dirty after a Cold-water flush, please call Public Works at 651-458-2808

2023 Flushing Map
  1. Hiring Fire Chief

    The city is hiring for the position of Deputy Director of Public Safety/Fire Chief. Read on...
  2. Mayor for a Day Essay Contest

    Calling all Cottage Grove future leaders ages 8-12! Are you interested in being Mayor for the day? Read on...
  3. Food Truck Thursdays at City Hall

    Each Thursday throughout the summer, City Hall will have a food truck from 11 a.m.-1 p.m! Read on...
View All

The Public Works Department is responsible for operating and maintaining City infrastructure.


The department is made up of 10 divisions including:

  • Fleet and Building Maintenance
  • Forestry
  • Public Works Administration
  • Sewer
  • Signs
  • Snow Removal
  • Stormwater
  • Streetlights
  • Streets
  • Water

Report An Issue to Public Works

  • Streetlight
  • Traffic Light
  • Tree Request
  • Snow Removal & Mailbox Damage
  • Street Maintenance 
  • Park Maintenance 

Or with any general questions or concerns

Please email

What the Department Provides

The Public Works Department provides the necessary services to residents, businesses, and visitors by providing well-planned, cost-effective support that promotes public health, personal safety, and economic vitality in a manner that preserves the City's infrastructure for future generations.